Hello world!

Hi, I’m Debbie and I am studying MIS(LIP) full-time. I’m in my second semester and thoroughly enjoyed the first semester, achieving things I never thought possible such as writing a webpage and semi-mastering SQL. I have a background in nursing, but am ready for a career change after many years. I decided on a career in libraries as I have always felt happy in when visiting them. I also would like to continue helping people and empowering them to be the best they can. I have an interest in literacy after working in correctional centres and being astounded by the high levels of poor literacy, particularly with the indigenous clients. Consequently, I would like to work in public libraries ideally but that may change.  Personally I am married with 2 dogs and have lived in Brisbane for 15 years after emigrating from Manchester (home of great football and music). I love going to see live music, walking and reading and I run a social group for adults.

.

2 thoughts on “Hello world!

  1. Katya Henry says:

    Hi Debbie,
    Good to see you in our unit again! I considered doing one of my work placements in a prison library. I think that would have been an amazing experience. Your fieldwork placement will be a wonderful opportunity for you to check out different types of libraries.

    Like

    • Deborah Fuller says:

      Thanks for your comments Katya. I never considered doing my placement in a prison library, but now you mention it, I think it would be a great experience and on I’m going to look inot

      Like

Leave a Reply

