Google search results

Screenshot (18)

This week’s play activity involved me doing a google search on my name, the results of which are attached. I decided to search under “Deb* Fuller” so it would include Deb, Deborah and Debbie, all of which I am known by. The only results on  the first page which linked to me were the Facebook and LinkedIn sections, which I needed to click on again to find myself top of both lists, although I think it was because I was searching on my laptop, which has both profiles saved on it. It was interesting to see the top search result on Google was a professor in AIDS research, followed by a boudoir photographer, both from North America, so obviously not me. I think because my name is very common it can be difficult to find me on a Google search, even when I narrowed it down to Brisbane, I got similar results.

Screenshot (19)

I am also very aware of what I post online in order to protect my privacy, whilst still projecting my personality.

11 thoughts on “Google search results

  1. Kelly Young says:

    Hi Debbie. My search name is equally popular. Many Kelly Young’s online but only one mine via the new Google + community site. May I ask you a technical question – how do you insert the screenshot?

    Like

    • Deborah Fuller says:

      Hi Kelly, On my laptop I pressed the Windows button and prtsc together and it got saved in pictures. I then clicked on the Media button on the Post page and got a box. Then went into Upload and browsed for the file. Media library then comes up. Tick on the images you want and at thee bottom of the screen, there is Insert into post, click on that and it’s there. I never even knew how to do a screenshot 6 months ago, let alone insert it into a blog. It has advantages having a common name I think. Can only be found if you supply details of social media sites, which I do when applying for a job (except Facebook: that’s my social site)

      Like

  2. Kate says:

    Hi @debbie and @kellyyoung. It has been really interesting reading your comments here!

    Since my last name is so unique, when you google my name, the hits only ever relate to me or an American cousin. This means that everything from social media to a small comment I left on a friend’s fund raising page are all brought back within the first page of Google. I’ve gone to lengths to make my name less searchable (and I will be writing about this at length on my blog next week) – not that any search results have ever reflected badly on me, it just seems to be too much unnecessary information.

    I have never considered what it must be like for people like you who have common names. You state that it has advantages. I would like to hear your opinion about that, if possible. Do you think that it can also be a disadvantage to not be easily found online? Would you prefer, like me, to be found immediately (but for every small detail to be found)?

    Like

    • Deborah Fuller says:

      Hi Kate, I feel that it can be both an advantage and disadvantage not being easily found on a name search. The big advantage is I can control what online information a potential employer as access to. Od this by supplying them with my Twitter handle and links to my LinkedIn account and blog site on my CV. However if they did aa search on me, I may be confused with other Deb.. Fullers, who may not be as careful about their online presence as I am. I would hope that potential employers would take into account how common my name is, along with where the others are located. I have to admit I was a little disappointed I couldn’t find myself, hopefully as the semester progresses, I will have built up more high profile professional online identity. Currently as I have not published anything or got a professional website, I do rank much lower than my namesakes who have.

      Like

      • Kate says:

        Thanks for your reply Debbie. I now understand this problem from the other perspective. I think that you’ve really identified a great advantage in the fact that you can provide what links your future employees will be able to access. I’m sure that as we progress through IFN620 you will become more prominent on Google, as you predict. You are lucky in that only really strong results will begin to show, unlike the obscure ones that show up in my results!

        Like

  3. Lisa Hetherington says:

    Hi Debbie @debbie,
    I do agree that Twitter seems to be a social networking favourite amongst library professionals and since creating my own account and following people in the profession, I have learnt so much about what’s going on in this field. I really hope that I can also make a valuable contribution in this arena someday.

    Like

    • Deborah Fuller says:

      I also hope to make a valuable contribution, at the moment it seems so far off, but we can achieve much more than we think we can (or so I keep telling myself)

      Like

  4. Elizabeth Smith says:

    Hello. Try my name. No one can find me. I used to hate the commonality of my name but now it is quite useful for privacy.

    Like

    • Deborah Fuller says:

      I agree with you there Elizabeth on the privacy. My maiden name was Shepherd, which was extremely common in the North of England where I’m from (lot of sheep farmers). having said that I live a relatively staid life now so it might be good to build up my professional identity online. I’m quite glad socil media wasn’t around when I was a young adult, because now young people’s adventures can haunt them for years

      Like

Leave a Reply

