Mindfulness

I got 3.33 in the Mindfulness Awareness Attention Scale [MAAS] (Brown & Ryan, 2003), which I think indicates I have moments of mindfulness. I am mindful when reading but not really when attending online or recorded lectures, when I’m easily diverted by my dogs or Facebook. I don’t think it has anything to do with enjoyment factor as I enjoy lectures but hate driving, where I concentrate so hard it hurts. This may be a result of an accident I was involved in which I think was a result of a momentary lapse of my attention. Fortunately I have no memory of it. I was interested in the article by Good et al (2016), in which it was stated nurses were interrupted on average 14 times a hour, each of which resulting in a 12% increase in errors. As a former nurse, I can confirm that the amount of interruptions was not an exaggeration, but the increase in errors is frightening both as a professional and a patient. I know in some hospitals nurses who are administering medication wear a bib stating they are not to be interrupted and this research certainly confirms why it is needed to me. I’m glad I’m a now a librarian and not a nurse, where errors due to interruptions are unlikely to be as devastating.

References

Brown, K. W., & Ryan, R. M. (2003). The benefits of being present: Mindfulness and its role in psychological well-being. Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, 84(4), 822-848. doi:10.1037/0022-3514.84.4.822

Good, D. J., Lyddy, C. J., Glomb, T. M., Bono, J. E., Brown, K. W., Duffy, M. K., . . . Lazar, S. W. (2016). Contemplating Mindfulness at Work: An Integrative Review. Journal of Management, 42(1), 114-142. doi:10.1177/0149206315617003

Leave a Reply

