Online information services

This unit was a steep learning curve for me, but I feel I successfully climbed it. The first part involved designing a webpage, utilising information architecture and HTML. These were completely foreign concepts to me, but with the help of my lecturer, who guided the group step by step through the process, I think myself and my colleague produced a good set of webpages, both parent and child.

The group aspect of the task worked well as both myself and my partner started from a similar level and we encouraged and supported each other as we developed new skills.

Not quite as successful was the multi-media presentation. I let myself down by not identifying my audience and putting too much information on my slides. However, I did successfully upload a narrated PowerPoint presentation onto YouTube, something I would never have dreamed of doing 12 months ago. I actually taught myself to do the PowerPoint narration using the Help feature and the YouTube upload with a YouTube video.

So all in all, I think I have learnt a great deal in this unit, skills which I can expand upon and take into my new career. I have amazed myself with what I can achieve with patience and methodically working through steps.

Leave a Reply

