Semester 1 2016 Reflection

I started this semester with excitement and trepidation. What would I learn? Would I be able to cope with the workload? What would my new classmates be like? I’m pleased to say the excitement is still there, but the trepidation has eased. I have learnt a lot this semester professionally, academically and personally. My key learning academically is how to retrieve and evaluate information effectively. I started Information Retrieval secure in the knowledge I was an effective searcher, my friends don’t call me the Google Queen for nothing. How wrong I was. I have learnt the importance of advanced searching techniques including subject databases and keywords rather than just using Quickfind and Google. I have also learnt how to effectively evaluate my sources for accuracy and currency, rather than just assuming because it is from a journal it is a good source. I have also learnt about statistical probability from Peter Bruza using M&Ms. Who knew learning maths could be so much fun? This information will serve me well into the future in all aspects of my life.

My key professional learning was that I have changed my mind about working in a public library and now would like to work in a special library. I still want to help people and I feel I can do this just as well in a professional library as a public one. By assisting professionals to locate accurate information, I will be helping them to better serve the public. I have also learnt that I need to develop my professional online brand and to do this I need to network and make connections. This is something I find difficult as I am naturally introverted, but I have attended several ALIA events, including a mini conference and a trivia night. I have also attended some of the State Library of Queensland’s  23 (Research and Data) Things sessions. My biggest challenge was building my LinkedIn profile because asking people to connect with me was a little intimidating, but I managed and have built a small network which I hope to expand on one step at a time. I have also registered on QUT’s Career Mentor Scheme and hope to gain valuable advice form my allocated mentor.

Personally, I have learnt that I can achieve more than I think. This was brought home by  Emerging Technologies. It’s no secret that I’m a digital immigrant, but I feel I have fully embraced the learning experience of this unit and realised that I can use technology effectively. I have learnt these new skills by taking it one step at a time and utilising all the different types of learning resources offered. I have learnt that I prefer an active style of learning, such as blogging,  trying out technology and interacting with peers. I feel that by learning how to utilise new technology, I have learnt a myriad of skills. These skills will be employed both personally and professionally in the future. I think that by learning them in a step by step manner, as I have been doing I will be better equipped to teach myself how to effectively use new technology as it is introduced in the future. I also know where and how to locate resources which will enable me to do this. This knowledge will aid me when showing clients and colleagues how to interact with technology in a way in which they understand.

The future holds many possibilities for me, although my main aim is to finish my Masters and get a job in the library field. I have organised my future research project combining my past life with my future, by auditing libraries in Queensland prisons ( I was a prison nurse, not an inmate). It is something I am really looking forward to doing, particularly as I was inspired to become a librarian through my work in corrective services. I was dismayed by the amount of offenders with poor literacy rates, particularly the indigenous ones. The link between poor literacy and crime and substance abuse I suspected, was confirmed when I researched a grant application assignment for Information Programs  last semester. By performing this audit, I may indirectly help improve the literacy of this group of people.

Things sessions. My biggest challenge was building my LinkedIn profile because asking people to connect with me was a little intimidating, but I managed and have built a small network which I hope to expand on one step at a time. I have also registered on QUT’s Career Mentor Scheme and hope to gain valuable advice form my allocated mentor.

Personally, I have learnt that I can achieve more than I think. This was brought home by  Emerging Technologies. It’s no secret that I’m a digital immigrant, but I feel I have fully embraced the learning experience of this unit and realised that I can use technology effectively. I have learnt these new skills by taking it one step at a time and utilising all the different types of learning resources offered. I have learnt that I prefer an active style of learning, such as blogging,  trying out technology and interacting with peers. I feel that by learning how to utilise new technology, I have learnt a myriad of skills. These skills will be employed both personally and professionally in the future. I think that by learning them in a step by step manner, as I have been doing I will be better equipped to teach myself how to effectively use new technology as it is introduced in the future. I also know where and how to locate resources which will enable me to do this. This knowledge will aid me when showing clients and colleagues how to interact with technology in a way in which they understand.

The future holds many possibilities for me, although my main aim is to finish my Masters and get a job in the library field. I have organised my future research project combining my past life with my future, by auditing libraries in Queensland prisons ( I was a prison nurse, not an inmate). It is something I am really looking forward to doing, particularly as I was inspired to become a librarian through my work in corrective services. I was dismayed by the amount of offenders with poor literacy rates, particularly the indigenous ones. The link between poor literacy and crime and substance abuse I suspected, was confirmed when I researched a grant application assignment for Information Programs  last semester. By performing this audit, I may indirectly help improve the literacy of this group of people.

Leave a Reply

