Introversion is okay

I’m proud to be an introvert and like Susan Cain in this  TedTalk, I would also have been the girl to take a case of books to camp. I have to say we didn’t have camp in England when I grew up and I am very grateful for that. I think it has effected me in my career over the years, I don’t shine in interviews, particularly group interviews and I can be reluctant to speak up in team meetings. I have had to make a concerted effort to become more extraverted in these situations and I do struggle. My previous career as a nurse required me to speak to complete strangers and often request really intimate information from them. I’m now in a career where my lecturers and experienced professionals reiterate the importance of networking. I’ll do it but I know it will take me out of my comfort zone and I’m not alone as up to half the population are introverts, so where are you all?

One thought on “Introversion is okay

Leave a Reply

